Waterside running at dawn

Most of us are drawn to bodies of water; ponds, lakes, rivers or seas.  My grandparents in land-locked Northamptonshire used to drive every weekend to the local reservoir, to walk the dog or sometimes just to sit and watch the water.

Water for me now makes the perfect focal point for a running route.  In Cornwall I’ll head for the beach at dawn and there’s nothing like it.  In Dubai, I joined other expats for a couple of laps (three if I could manage it) around the Springs lake.  My Hampstead Heath routes always pass by the ponds.

Water at dawn holds a special attraction.  It’s both calming and stimulating; never the same.  And the reflection of sunrise on still water makes the most amazing photos. Another dawn runner kindly sent me this incredible shot of his morning running route in Colwick Country Park near Nottingham.

 

Colwick Country Park, courtesy of @Darren0310

 

Leave a Reply

